Rating Guidelines

The Open-Division of the CBLSL is part of a larger national organization called North American Gay Amateur Athletic Alliance or NAGAAA. NAGAAA was formed in 1977 and is a 501c(3) international sports organization comprised of all genders dedicated to providing opportunity and access for the LGBTQI+ community to participate in organized softball competition in safe environments. Currently, more than 17,000 players from 46 cities across Canada and the United States participate in member leagues. Member cities compete in seven divisions A, B, C, D, E, Masters C and Masters D.

The Women's+ Division of CBLSL also aligns with a bigger organization called ASANA (Amateur Sports Alliance of North America). ASANA was created in 2007 as a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the participation of LGBTQI+ people in organized amateur athletics. The association has member leagues in 25 cities throughout the United States, and many of them participate in the ASANA Softball World Series, which is hosted each year in a different city. ASANA Softball consists of 6 divisions (A, B, C, D, E and 50+). The division designations pertain to the level of play, with "A" being the most skilled and the "E" supporting the most recreational levels of play.

To divide players into their respective divisions NAGAAA and ASANA use a multi-question rating system to ensure teams play teams of similar caliber. The questions encompass categories like throwing, running, pitching, fielding and hitting. Players receive points based off whether they can complete the action described in the questions. All players in the CBLSL Open-Division are rated yearly, whether you attend ASANA or NAGAAA credited tournaments, by their manager which are then shared with the CBLSL Rating Committee.

If players have questions concerning your rating feel free to speak with your manager, Division Coordinator, Open Director or our league's  ASANA/NAGAAA Rep.

Send Your Feedback